The IET announces fifth edition of India Scholarship Award to recognise future engineering leaders


The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) opened registrations for the fifth edition of its prestigious India Scholarship Award, with a combined prize of INR 500,000. Open to students of all AICTE, UGC approved and National institutes, the IET India Scholarship programme aims to reward and celebrate individual excellence and innovation among undergraduate engineering students in India.

IET India instituted the annual IET Scholarship Awards in 2013 to underline the organisation’s commitment to India’s engineering community. The aim was to incentivise young people entering the engineering and technology profession.  This year IET India Scholarship Award is being re launched this year in a digital format to coincide with the IET’s 150th anniversary. The awards are open to all first, second, third and fourth year undergraduate engineering students pursuing engineering from AICTE/UGC approved Institutions and national institutes.

Toni Allen, Director, International, Strategic Marketing and Engagement, The IET said, “India fulfils a significant portion of the global engineering and technology workforce demands and this is only set to grow in the coming years. It is therefore imperative to recognise the potential of young Indian engineers and to give them a platform to showcase and enhance their skills. We are thrilled to bring back the IET India Scholarship Awards this year and cannot wait to discover the next generation of engineering leaders that will help us solve some of the world’s biggest challenges.”

The IET India Scholarship Award 2021 is advised and led by a highly empowered and respected advisory board, composed of academicians and corporate professionals of national repute who help build a strong framework for IET India Scholarship Awards. The committee is chaired by Prof. Abhijit Chakrabarti, Professor, Electrical Engineering, IIEST, Kolkata and members of the committee are Dr Nandini Gupta, Professor, Department of Electrical Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Kanpur; Professor Santosh Kumar Vora, Professor and Head of Department-Electrical Engineering, Institute of Technology, Nirma University; Prof. Samarjit Sengupta, Department of Applied Physics, University of Calcutta; Dr Shobha G, Professor, Department Of Computer Science & Engineering, R V College of Engineering  and Manish Bahl, AVP, Center for the Future of Work – Asia Pacific and the Middle East, Cognizant.

Prof Abhijit Chakrabarti, Chairman – IET India Scholarship Award 2021; Professor, Electrical Engineering, IIEST, Kolkata said, “I have been associated with the awards since its inception and we have seen a progressive improvement in the level of competition and quality of ideas presented. It is heartening to see the impact that the scholarship has had on winners at various levels over the years. The past year has been tough and the scholarship had to metamorphose into a format that reflects realities of today and has gone fully digital. We are hoping that this would encourage even more students to apply and prove their mettle. I wish all the very best to all applicants and look forward to meeting them at various rounds.” 

Shekhar Sanyal, Director and Country Head, IET India said, “This is the fifth edition of the IET India Scholarship Award, which is a prestige scholarship focused towards identifying engineering leaders of tomorrow. In this quest, we are looking for young engineers, who can demonstrate innovation, creativity, leadership and excellence by creating feasible technical solutions to solve current societal challenges. I am very excited about this edition which is happening on the 150th year anniversary of the IET. We have received tremendous response for the previous editions and data shows that our winners go on to do great things in engineering a better world and we hope to see the momentum continue this year as well.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here